Imperial crypt

Everyday life in Vienna

image
So, today a friend from Chicago asked me if I was keen to come see the coffins of a few hundred years’ worth of Hapsburgs. I thought that might be cool. And it was. Above you can see a bit of the badass coffin of Maria Theresia and her husband.
image
We started off on in the 1600s, with a collection of Hapsburgs.
image

The highlight was most notably the Maria Theresia crypt, where she was buried with her beloved, and most of her 16(!) kids. Productive woman! No wonder she wanted to send them off to school.
image
This was from the coffin of her father. I accidentally set off the alarm when I leaned in a bit closer to take this photo. Ooops!
image
Sisi was also found here. So, it was quite interesting, but very little interpretation in English if you go alone without a guide. The freaky thing, only the…

View original post 64 more words

One thought on “Imperial crypt

Comments are closed.